Kettering Board Elects Vice Presidents

The Kettering Foundation’s Board of Trustees has elected John R. Dedrick and Maxine S. Thomas vice presidents. A political scientist, Dedrick has served as the foundation’s program director since 2004 and will continue to provide direction for contract research, staff associates, scholars-in-residence, and publications. He has bachelor's and master’s degrees from the College of William and Mary and a master’s degree and a doctorate from Rutgers University. Dedrick has contributed to The Deliberative Democracy Handbook (ed. Gastil and Levine, Jossey Bass 2005) and in Deliberation and the Work of Higher Education: Innovations for the Classroom, the Campus and the Community (ed. Dedrick et. al., Kettering Foundation Press 2008). He serves on the Executive Committee of Deliberative Democracy Consortium and the Public Policy Committee of the Ohio Grantmakers Forum. He also serves as adjunct faculty at Fielding Graduate University, Institute for Social Innovation, where he leads seminars on topics including deliberation, dialogue and civic engagement. Secretary and general counsel at the foundation since 1991, Thomas was associate dean of the University of Georgia Law School before joining the Foundation staff. Earlier in her career, she had served as assistant attorney general for the State of Washington working in the office of the General Counsel of the University of Washington. Thomas is a member of the Ohio State Bar Association, the Ohio Women’s Bar Association, and the American Bar Association. She was a Fulbright lecturer at Tohoku University in Sendai, Japan in 1988-1989, and has served on the Fulbright Association Board from 1991 to 2000. Thomas was made a Kellogg Foundation National Fellow in 1985, and was admitted to practice before the U.S. Supreme Court in 1995.